Artist: ist Album: King Martha
Click For Full Sized Picture
Click image for fullsize view

Genre: Alternative Pop
Release Date:
August 2005

General Info:
Amongst others, Ex-Culture Club support act & current Beautiful South session brass, the Swinging Laurels lent their time-served professional brass & horns sound to the album.

Track Listing (Audio stream / MP3 available for highlighted tracks)

1. Momentary Glitch
2. Apologia
3. Duty Calls
4. Haunted
5. Evelyn Harper
6. Fag Break

7. Audrey Hepburn
8. Shall We Begin...?

9. An Invasion Of Crows
10. The Silence
11. Death & The Songwriter
12. Here We Go Again
13. Selfish Terrors
 If ist's last album "Freudian Corduroy" was the band's puberty then "King Martha" is definitely their "coming of age" - this CD still has the fine, zesty, guitar-driven sound of the early offering, but the more mature, reflective angle of the tracks are enhanced with the warm, seasoned sound of special guests, The Swinging Laurels on brass & horns. Independent release-wise I'd say this is the definitive alternative pop CD of 2005 - a "Sergeant Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band" for the post-millennium generation.

Reviewer: Mark Edwards